Wednesday, March 17th, 2010

17 Mar

The weather is slowly getting warmer and warmer. It is actually supposed to reach 60 degrees tomorrow. That will be an awesome and uplifting thing. I hope it comes true to the fullest effect. Today we programmed some running in. We’ve only gotten it in about twice this year and I feel that running in intermediate bursts is a great work capacity builder. You can do all the met-cons you want but running/rowing met-cons is where it’s at. Those things kill a lot of people. If you run, you usually will do pretty well at them but if you don’t run, you will gas fast. I’m kind of excited for the whole notion of getting out and doing some running. Not long slow distance running but rather hundreds, two hundreds, four hundreds, and maybe an occasional 800, both repeats and included in met-cons.

WODs

I have missed posting a lot of the workouts over the past two weeks. My shoulder is doing a lot better but it is still painful when doing somethings and although I can push through the pain, I have lost a great deal of ability and confidence in it. My shoulders are less enduring, weaker, and all around just not what they are used to. Thrusters are one of my favorite things to do and those kill my shoulder the next day. I really have to focus on hip drive and minimizing the use of my arms for nothing more than lockout at the top. I like to work with and am comfortable working with weights in the 175 to 200 range for thrusters and lately that has been a tough go. I did some 176 pound thrusters yesterday (35 of them) and I was only able to do them in sets of 2 to 3 with a few sprinkles of 4 and 5 in there. Normally, I would be able to stick with more reps consistently. I think I’ve done a 12-9-6 or a 9-6-3 workout with 176 pound thrusters before and not break up any of the reps. I think it was 9-6-3 but I am not sure. Now I have a bit of trouble and afterward I pay for it. I am doing a lot of rehab work including ART, PVC pipe myofascial release, PNF, electrical stem, dynamic stretching, etc. It’s been a slow go with the whole healing process and I have a pretty strong mind to get myself through workouts, not to mention my mechanical efficiency is improving because of the injury which will only serve me better when the damn thing heals.

The good thing is the injury is not exacerbated by full snatches, overhead squats, jerks, etc. About the only things that bother it are thrusters, push presses, shoulder press (a little), hspus, and setting up for the back squat, but mainly for the loss of strength and the pain after workouts that I have to recover from. I’ve lost a lot of muscular endurance in my shoulders because of the loss of strength. I used to be able to do almost thirty legit hspus consecutively but now I have trouble with 5. It sucks a little and a little disheartening but I am keeping the spirits high and pushing on. I am being smart about it though too. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Let’s see if I can remember what the last two weeks of workouts consisted of:

Tuesday’s Workouts (100316)
1:30PM
Clean & Jerk
190 x 2
220 x 2
240 x 2

Overhead Squat
137 x 3
162 x 3
181 x 7

Untimed met-con:
35 Thrusters at 176
35 Dead hang pull ups (touch throat to bar with neutral neck alignment)
Break up however you need to, just get the work done.

6:45PM
1 minute of handstand holds
1 minute of kb swings, 1.5 pood

Rounds held full minute – 2
Total kb swing reps – 282

Saturday/Sunday/Monday – OFF

Friday’s Workouts (100312)
2PM
Snatch
132 x 2
159 x 2
179 x 3

Dead-lift (no bouncing)
291 x 3
335 x 3
374 x 5

Accessory work: Reverse Hypers and Glute Ham Sit ups

7:30PM
St Patty’s Day Team WOD
In teams of 4,
400 Air Squats
400 Burpees
20 Beers

Thursday – OFF

Wednesday’s workouts (100310)
NorCal Sectional WOD #1 (I think)
Two workouts in one, where the second workout begins exactly 20 minutes after the first one starts:
#1
4 rounds for time of:
9 Squat Cleans, 132 pounds
6 HSPUs

Time: 5:03 (damn shoulder, I had to break up the last set of hspus and had to go slow on every round)

#2
30 Below the knee Hang Squat Snatches, 75 pounds
30 C2B Pull ups
750 meter row

Time: 7:08

Tuesday’s workouts (100309)
Back Squat
225 x 3
252 x 3
286 x 7

Press
110 x 3
125 x 3
140 x 3

Immediately after:
AMRAP in 15 minutes of:
5 Over the Box Jumps, 20 inch box
10 CTB Pull ups
50 Single Unders

Results: 13 single unders short of 14 rounds

One Response to “Wednesday, March 17th, 2010”

  1. Anonymous Monday, March 22, 2010 at 1:09 PM #

    Did you do the team tryout workouts? Will you be on the team if you don’t make it?
    Happy birthday yesterday.

Leave a comment